

Royal Portrush Golf Club

For Immediate Release

Contact: Dustin Roberts Golf Coaches Association of America (405) 329-4222

Wednesday, April 21, 2010

Palmer Cup Teams Announced for Europe and United States

NORMAN, Okla. – The United States and European teams have been announced for the 2010 Palmer Cup at Royal Portrush Golf Club in Portrush, Northern Ireland. The annual Ryder Cup-style competition will be played June 24-26.

The European team will consist of James Byrne and Jesper Kennegard of Arizona State, East Tennessee State's Rhys Enoch, David Lingmerth of Arkansas, Augusta State's Henrik Norlander, Andrea Pavan of Texas A&M, Stirling's Patrick Spraggs and Pontus Widegren of UCLA. Italy's Pavan and Norlander of Sweden will be competing in their second Palmer Cup after leading the Euros to victory last summer at Cherry Hills Country Club. Byrne hails from Scotland, Enoch and Spraggs from England and Kennegard, Lingmerth and Widegren from Sweden. Dean Robertson of Scotland and Sweden's Walle Danewid will coach the European team for the second-straight year.

Representing America will be Florida's Tyson Alexander, John Chin of UCI, Stanford's David Chung, Dustin Garza of Wichita State, Georgia's Russell Henley, Daniel Miernicki of Oregon, Charlotte's Corey Nagy and Jonathan Randolph of Mississippi. The U.S. squad will be lead by head coach Chris Zambri of Southern California and assistant coach Brian Sharp of Virginia Tech. Although the United States team does not have a returning player, Alexander's father Buddy coached the U.S. squad to victory at Whistling Straits in 2005.

The all-time Palmer Cup series is tied 6-6-1.

Palmer Cup at Royal Portrush Golf Club

Team Europe

James Byrne, Arizona State (Scotland)
Rhys Enoch, East Tennessee State (England)
Jesper Kennegard, Arizona State (Sweden)
David Lingmerth, Arkansas (Sweden)
Henrik Norlander, Augusta State (Sweden)
Andrea Pavan, Texas A&M (Italy)
Patrick Spraggs, Stirling (England)
Pontus Widegren, UCLA (Sweden)
Head Coach: Dean Robertson, Scotland
Assistant Coach: Walle Danewid, Sweden

Team USA

Tyson Alexander, Florida
John Chin, UCI
David Chung, Stanford
Dustin Garza, Wichita State
Russell Henley, Georgia
Daniel Miernicki, Oregon
Corey Nagy, Charlotte
Jonathan Randolph, Mississippi
Head Coach: Chris Zambri, Southern California
Assistant Coach, Brian Sharp, Virginia Tech

- Palmer Cup -